Options

Please Critique My Resume!

NavyITNavyIT Member Posts: 171
Hello all,

I am in the process of writing my resume in preparation for getting out of the Navy. Please provide me with any feedback you can. I have never written a resume before, so I'm sure you can find plenty of things to critique!

Thank you!
A.S. - Computer Networking: Cisco
B.S. - Computer & Network Security

Comments

• Options
    kgbkgb Member Posts: 380
    I'd reword the clearance part. Anyone that cares about the clearance already knows what that level of clearance means. It sounds cheesy to me. My 2 cents.

With that said, that's a nice level of clearance and will no doubt help you if you decide to go into the government contract world.

Security Clearance or Clearance:
    Active DoD Top Secret

Is what I would put something like that. It takes up less space as well.

If you play with the format, use tables with some columns you might be able to get it down to 1 page.
    Bachelor of Science, Information Technology (Software) - WGU
  • Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    I just did a quick scan but I would use a resume template, yours is currently unattractive to the eye and does not flow well. Find a slick resume to make the reader psychophysiologically compelled to finish it!
  • Options
    J_86J_86 Member Posts: 262 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I like your opening statement, nice summary of what your about.

I'd remove the reference part. If they want references, they will ask for them.
  • Options
    Thank you very much for the feedback. I am trying to find a better resume template. Do you think the lists of Hardware/Software/Operating systems is a bit much? It just looks like a jumbled mess to me but I'm not sure how to make it look any better. Thanks again!
  • Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    Since we share the same rate I'm obligated to respond, also PM me your email address and I will send u a copy of my resume.