Options

Job Offer: Need Advice (possibly for countering)

JasonXJasonX Member Posts: 96 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I just received a call back after I last weeks Final interview with the Director of Telecom at a large public university.

I am presently an application developer, and the new position would be a Telecom Analyst.

Problem here is I would be taking about a 12-13% paycut salary wise from what I presently make, but I'd finally be in Networking.

Perks at the new job include getting my MBA for free from a pretty reputable University as well as them contributing more (I contribute 5% they contribute 8% vs my present employer matching up to 3.5%) to my 401k.

Overall, after factoring in 401k contributions between both employers and health benefit deductions, I'd be looking at a loss of a little over $5k. I do still have student loans, a car payment and would need to move again for the position.

Further, the salary offered is at the bottom end of the range listed for compensation on the position. That, and the intial phone interview, my supervisor indicated the salary range from what I was offered to 4-5k more than I was offered. I'd think there may be some more money allocated for this position.

I really do want the position as the perks are great, just am concerned how taking this paycut would impact me. However, I'd hate to turn down yet another position in Networking like I had to at AT&T due to salary and have to remain in Programming, but I'd get more benefits here.

Any advice?

Thanks,

Jason
2016 Certification Goals:
CCIE R/S Written: ???
CCIE R/S Lab: ???
Add me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/pub/jason-meier/38/912/280/

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod