Options

Software Defined Networking -- changes everything?

mguymguy Member Posts: 167 ■■■□□□□□□□
So the industry is a buzz with SDN right now with acquisitions left and right by major companies

Let me google that for you

Basically the networking gear will be given "cloud" like properties and this new technology challenges the status-quo. It could end Cisco, replaced by something else.

I'm not an expert, but as a guy who sees CCNP/CCIE path as a possibility, major technological innovations like this makes me hold off. CCIE study with 1500 hours doesn't look as appealing anymore now that there are new major players, new paradigms, and Cisco dominance is threatened.

How will this affect networking jobs? Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    lol cisco dominance threatened?

I'm sure at that "cloud" there are invisible/intangible stuff running that dont need a DBA, a network engineer or a sys eng

Same thing has been going on with Sys Admin and cloud
    and I havent seen any reduced demand for dbas or sysadmins
    more like they just integrate "cloud technologies" to the position duties
    meh
  • Options
    Actually at the moment, nothing is certain. Nothing is certain in IT. We make bets that'll hopefully payoff.
  • Options
    The one actitude you shouldnt take is the "Hold off" in your studies
    never.
    You should always keep learning stuff and keeping up to date
    if you do that, it doesnt matter if suddenly red is the new black
    because as a Pro IT guy/gal you will know about red months before it goes into full force
    meh
  • Options
    Not necessarily. You should also be business smart about your choice of which technology to study given information available to you.

Would you learn Windows XP just to learn it when the trend is to move away from it? or instead learn the new technology/platform?

A good IT professional can quickly reverse their directions and head towards a new future.
  • Options