Options

Balancing Work, Home, and Studying for Certs

I see a lot of you are super successful (kudos to you) because you all seem to have a good balance between work, home and studying. I'm still relatively new to IT and I find myself struggling and feel as if I'm starting to burn out just a tad. How do you all balance it out? Do you plan? Do you just wing it? Do you find yourself with copious amounts of time at work?

For myself, I have hardly any time at work to study. I often work extra hours (either at home or the office), so we'll say between 45-55 hours a week. I have no kids, but I'm in a relationship (living with SO) and she doesnt work as frequently as I do. I know some of you have kids and the like, how do you manage? Any advice/tips would be appreciated!
:study: Currently Reading: Red Hat Certified Systems Administrator and Engineer by Ashgar Ghori

Certifications: CCENT; CCNA: R&S; Security+

Next up: RHCSA

Comments

• Options
    coreyb80coreyb80 Member Posts: 647 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I study for my A+ cert on the way to and from work. I study at home while on the PC instead of just aimlessly browsing. Take an hour or 2 away from watching TV and use it to study. I have a wife and 4 children so it's definitely a balancing act for me. What drives me is the fact that I love IT and I want to be successful. Anytime the word "bored" crosses my mind I study.
    WGU BS - Network Operations and Security
    Completion Date: May 2021
  • Options
    Bigbill810Bigbill810 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I am married with a two year old daughter. I feel your pain, while my wife is understanding and as hopeful as I am for the future...my daughter does not know any better. She is by far the biggest distraction to my studies. I love when she wants to spend time with me and the real balance is her. She deserves her daddy's love and attention, but her future is what I'm working towards.