Options

Reindtroduction

linuxgodlinuxgod Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just realized after over a year of being on techexams that I'm the only clown here using my real name so I decided to make a new account until further notice. A little about myself. I've been in IT professionally for about a year and half now and I've been supporting linux for about a year. I'm currently a Jr Systems Admin at a webhosting company with servers running Windows 2003/2008, RHEL(multiple versions), CentOS(multiple versions), Ubuntu server(multiple versions) and FreeBSD(same as the others). I've seen one FC4 box and I've heard about some solaris boxes but I've been at my current job a little over a month and have yet to work on all of the servers. We have a networking department that handles the networking stuff by we support the customers dedicated firewall which is usually a Cisco ASA 5505 but sometimes it's a linux box running iptables. We have some cloud customers who get their own VM on a shared server as well but I haven't done much with virtualization other than mess with a test ESXi server that we have and assist a customer with configuring Hyper-V. I currently go to WGU which is why I'll probably end up racking more certs than I really want at this point in my career since I'm pretty much set on linux and I feel confident that this is a place I could stay at for a long time gaining that all important experience. I currently work night shift which gives me some study time but as soon as I finish my degree, I'm probably headed to the dayshift where it's much busier.

Also a little about my personal life. I am currently enaged and have a son who is going on 9 months this month. I'm glad to be in such a good position financially because I'd like to provide to him all of the things my parents provided to me.