Options

Back to IT.. forgot how much I hated the job hunt

ThackerThacker Member Posts: 170
Hey guys,
After a 2-3 year hiatus from the IT industry I'm back and in the job hunt full swing. I've had some pretty bad experiences already and had a question regarding what happened today.

Over the weekend I sent out my resume to some job postings on craigslist. The first thing I noticed was how over inflated some of the job postings were. It seemed like a HR person was throwing IT buzzwords in a blender and writing down whatever it spit back out. I did find a few I was interested in however and submitted my resume accordingly.

Monday morning comes around and I get 3 call backs all before 10am. I ended up playing phone tag with one company in particular until this afternoon when we scheduled a phone interview. Upon calling the man back and speaking to him today his first question was "Are you free above and beyond the scope of normal business hours on a regular basis?"

I said "yes, sure my schedule is very flexible"

And then the next question "What type of compensation are you looking for?"