Options

Job Dilemma

dragonshizdragonshiz Member Posts: 78 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys and gals just wanted to get your opinion on what I should do. Right now I am working a tier 1 tech support gig basically doing 90% Help Desk Work over the phone and remote assists and 10% Desktop Support Work. I absolutely love my job but the career ceiling is very limited since the company does not consider technology a priority and we are a very small dept so I would have to wait for someone to leave before I could get promoted, I have been working here for 9 months.

I just interviewed twice for a system technician position at a different company (still considered tier 1 at this company), however, this is for a company where technology is at the forefront. I would also get to work with servers, virtual machines, AD and everything else I am not getting with my current company. This position also comes with a 20% raise, more time off, and they actually pay for and encourage IT certifications. I have just one problem, the President of this new company that I interviewed at said the job is yours as long as you can get your current employer to be ok with it. My current employer is a client of the company I want to work for. Mind you I found this job on my own accord it's not like I had a contact there that I emailed back and forth all the time.