Options

Advice on possible security career

Madmd5Madmd5 Member Posts: 83 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello, all! I am new to this thread although i have been reading many posts for the past month or so about various certs and career paths. I am currently a full-time student about to get an associate's degree at community college, then I plan to pursue a bachelor's degree in cyber forensics & information security at a 4 year college. In the meantime, I have been reading numerous threads here and obviously came to the conclusion that certs are also very important to have in the IT world. My interest is in security, specifically in network security. I have also read articles online that says network security is a declining career, do you all agree? I do want to get involved in network security, but if the job market in a few years isn't that great, I may pursue another area of infosec. I currently have no certs at the moment, but i am planning on getting compTIA A+ within few months from now, along with N+ (accomplished through course at my school), and security+. What do you guys think would be the best route after I study and hopefully receive those three certs? Now i have read many posts and i realize nobody starts out in security career, you start from the bottom up, and that's why I'm planning on getting my A+ to hopefully land me a help-desk position fairly soon. I just want to have a general route to follow during my college career and was wondering what do you guys think is the best cart path for someone that wants to get involved in network security someday.

Thank you in advance for your advice!

Comments

• Options
    docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■