Options

Passed the CISSP - What Should I Do Next?

I'd like to get a couple more certifications and possibly pursue a career in auditing. I'd prefer to roam contract gig to contract gig, and it seems like this is a career that caters to that kind of lifestyle.

My background is 10+ years in Windows administration/engineering, server admin, hardening, maintenance, patch management, anti virus, etc.

So... What should I get next? CEH, CCNA, CWNA/CWSP? I'm up for suggestions, but I do have one small request - Please rank them in order of difficulty compared to the CISSP. I'm not burnt out, but if I crack open another 1200 page book like the CISSP next week I might just lose it.

Thanks in advance. Although this is my second post, I gotta tell you guys that I've trolled this site and you have all been extremely helpful.

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    If you want to aim your career towards auditing then most technical certs won't do you much good. You should be looking at the certs offered by ISACA. However, those certs are for people that have already had years of experience in auditing and risk management. I don't know of an Auditing+ cert.
  • Options
    wes allenwes allen Member Posts: 540 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Sounds a lot like what my goals are as well. I am going to try to get a couple more base technical certs to refresh my network knowledge, then save my pennies for Systems and Network Auditor Certification: GSNA GSEC in another good one. Security Tube Python Scripting and the OSCP are also on the to look at list.
  • Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Most of the IS auditors that I work with carry a CISA cert. Check out the ISACA site as jd suggested.
  • Options
    bobloblawbobloblaw Member Posts: 228
    Thanks everyone. I'm going to check out the CISA as suggested. 750 pages for the AIO. I'll take it.