Options

VSP vs. CCNA

DimadooDimadoo Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,
I hope this question isn't too annoying.
I have been doing some research on certifications. I know they'll help me out in the long run for my career.
I have a Bachelors in Computer Networking. I had quite a few classes for the CCNA while I was in school, but that was back in 2009, so I am rusty (and very intimidated by the test).
I see that Virtualization is getting pretty big these days and from what I am perceiving it isn't going away anytime soon.
I want to stop doing research on which cert I should go for and start studying for the right cert.
Just wondering you guy's take on situation.
Thanks in advance.icon_study.gif

Comments

• Options
    jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    VSP is not a certification you can just go for. You need to be registered with a VMWare Partner in order to gain this certification (which is a small online course with a few slides and a 10 or so question test afterwards). So I got the impression you got the wrong cert there :) VSP - VMware Sales Professional .. so I assume you are rather after the VCP (VMware Certified Professional) ?

Either way - you should go for a cert of a topic you enjoy. If its networking - by all means go for the CCNA - if virtualization is what you enjoy / like - then sure, go for the VCP ...

You shouldn't go for virtualization because "it is big these days" - you need to choose a path of a topic you like / love as each certification requires the candidate to love the topic to excell in it .. you won't if you go for it just because its currently "big".
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • Options
    sieffsieff Member Posts: 276