Options

Determining a Roadmap

Hello all!! Wanted to post here and see if anyone could help me make some decisions on a road map to get where I want to be. My ultimate goal is to be involved with Penetration Testing, Vulnerability Assessments, and possibly some Malware Analysis. Something along those lines.

A little about me. I'm currently a Windows Systems Engineer with about 12 years of experience for a decent sized organization (~25,00 users) and I mainly handle the messaging systems (Exchange, Lync, Enterprise Vault), Active Directory, and systems automation with Powershell. I'm starting to get involved with the patch management process on the Windows side of our department and I try to get myself involved with any sort of security related projects that I can. Any time I see some sort of lapse in security (sensitive internal websites which should be using SSL, etc) within my organization I am sure to bring it up with the appropriate people. I would ultimately love to do pen testing and vulnerability assessments within my organization if that type of position ever opened up. I'm not sure who on our security team is doing that type of work. Also, I have been using Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer to scan some of the Windows hosts I am responsible for to ensure there is nothing misconfigured on them.