Options

Career Change Noob

DoctorYikesDoctorYikes Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

My road to IT has been long, winding, and probably a bit odd. I'm beginning what will be my second major change in direction, vocationally. I'm entering a local CC program that with a little tweaking, I'm fitting into the 2+2 requirements at another local University. The path will be AAS Information Security --> BAAS CIS Information Security concentration.

I'm currently a respiratory therapist, specializing in neonatal and pediatric intensive care. It's not that I don't enjoy it at all... In fact, I'm planning on maintaining my licensure and doing some home health and/or prn work on the side as I go along. However, it's a fairly limited career. I've pretty much peaked at five or six years in and even the potential for future advancement is near zero.

I'd always been The Computer Guy in my various non-computer jobs. I received my A+ and a couple of MCP certs back in 1999-2000 when I was working for the goverment. I had hoped that I would be able to transition into a more dedicated computer role then, but instead I simply ended up absorbing all of my department's IT needs in my existing job description (Without a raise, of course, ha ha).

Anyway, I'm just poking my head in here to get a feel for the industry these days. It's been almost a decade since I've taken a -serious- look at the field, but with my new classes coming up soon, I'm all-in. I might end up staying in the medical field (Informatics demand is booming with recent regulatory changes), but I'm keeping myself wide open to any potential avenue.

My AAS coursework has a few options... Right now I'm targeting a course that'll end me up with a CCNA and some Linux certs. Also going to pick up a Sec+ at some point. With an eye toward the bachelor's 2+2 program, I'm adding in some Java-based programming.