Options

Both Spouses in IT - What's your experience?

martawmartaw Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
Within our marriage, both of us are in IT... networking and systems/desktop. My background is networking. Now I do more cloud, network automation, etc. though. Just would like to know if there are other folks in which you and your other half are both in IT. For a while, we actually both worked at the same company, LOL! We didn't have any issues, though I was concerned about there being marital stuff spilling out at work.Thankfully things were mostly under wraps and now I am at a new company anyway.

What has it been like for you? Do you ever feel competitive? What IT areas do you and your spouse work in? Do you study for certs together? Do you feel like you "shop talk" too much outside of work with your significant other. I know it can be easy to just default to talking about work when you are both in the same field. Were one of you in the field before the other? Just wondering if there are any other IT couples out there. :)

Comments

• Options
    CodyyCodyy Member Posts: 223 ■■■□□□□□□□
    That actually sounds pretty cool except for the working for the same company part, I love seeing my GF(and I believe future wife) as much as possible, but don't think I'd want to spend another 8+ hours a day at work with her. You're bound to get tired of each other at some point?
  • Options
    Node ManNode Man Member Posts: 668 ■■■□□□□□□□
    In the broader context, i wonder if it is good idea for spouses to work in identical fields. Especially in the same company. I fear competitive spirit may supersede love&marital support.
  • Options
    martawmartaw Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Codyy wrote: »
    You're bound to get tired of each other at some point?