OSCP Prerequisites

technosecuritytechnosecurity Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

1 - Before going to start OSCP, i want to know what are the prerequisites for doing it. what certifications or language will add advantage in prepration of OSCP. i am a Network Security Engineer, have a sound knowledge in Firewall (ASA/PIX/Juniper). i am also a RHCE during my previous jobs configured nagios,asterisk,cacti. i have no knowledge in any scripting languages. i dont know any thing about pearl,phython,shell,bash.

2 - i want to know from all of experts should i do OSCP ? whats the level of scripting is involved in OSCP ? can an unexperienced person in scripting should do OSCP ?

3 - If i do OSCP will my network security skills will add advantage to it ?

4 - What is the scope of a person who is good in security and if he is a OSCP to ?

Experts thanks in advance for any suggestions and advice which will be provided from all of u.

Comments

• dbrinkdbrink Member Posts: 180
    Quote right from the Penetration Testing with Backtrack course description.
    Penetration Testing with BackTrack is an entry-level course but still requires students to have certain knowledge prior to attending the class. A solid understanding of TCP/IP, networking, and reasonable Linux skills are required. This course is not for the faint of heart; it requires practice, testing, and the ability to want to learn in a manner that will grow your career in the information security field and defeat any learning plateau. Offensive Security challenges you to rise above the rest, dive into the fine arts of advanced penetration testing, and to Try Harder™.

If you have solid TCP/IP and networking skills then you should be good to go with your RHCE. I believe I've heard in the past that Python is helpful but you will learn in the class what is needed with Python scripting.
    Currently Reading: Learn Python The Hard Way
    http://defendyoursystems.blogspot.com/