Options

Do you follow a "system" when entering commands?

CodyyCodyy Member Posts: 223 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just wondering if anyone has a routine of commands that they enter no matter what, whether the problems calls for it or not, and in the exact order every time. I'm in a CCNA boot camp this week and often times find myself wondering if I entered this command, that command, etc.. It seems easiest to just have an exact routine of commands, memorize it, and enter everything in within a couple of minutes. If so, would anyone mind sharing theirs if it's on a document? I am creating one now but I'm still really new to CCNA so remembering every command that I need is a little difficult. Hopefully this makes sense. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I don't really have a set list of commands I look at everytime I log in. It more depends on what I'm doing really.

When changes are made though I do prefer to have a script log in and do pre/post status captures of a long list of commands. That way if something happens to go wrong you have nice output to compare, or info to send to your vendor if you need to open a case.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    @Networker: What do you use for scripting? A certain language, batch-file, program?
  • Options
    oli356oli356 Member Posts: 364
    Doesn't he just mean a script in notepad: So you do all the config in notepad and then paste it into the program you're using (putty for example). That's what most people mean when they say script, at least in my office.
    Lab:
    Combination of GNS3 and Cisco equipment if required.
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Yeah, that's why I was curious. I thought most Network Admins used Notepad.
  • Options
    FuturaFutura Member Posts: 191