Options

Am I getting to far ahead of myself?

klhatchettklhatchett Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
As I have stated before I am currently studying Infosec and Assurance at a University, and should be graduating by December of 2014, with that being said, I would like to achieve both the Network+ and Security+ certifications before graduating, but I feel a little discouraged when I talk to my peers about my goals. They make me feel as if it will be a waste of money if I try and pursue it this early , since they themselves are waiting until after graduation and since they want to wait and see if an employer will pay for the certs.

What my question is, is should I also do the same as my peers,or should I stick to my guns and pursue the certifications, I feel the certifications will help to give me an advantage over those that want to wait until graduation to achieve any certifications, but I also see the logic in wanting to wait and see if an employer will be willingly to pay for the tests?I know its possible,but is it very likely? Or should I try and stay ahead of the competition? (other students in the program). Any opinion is greatly appreciated!

-K.L.H
Look me up on LinkedIn, Lets Connect! http://www.linkedin.com/in/klhatchett92

Comments

• Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    Having certs by the time you graduate will give you a leg up forsure. I would recommend Sec+ and CCNA over Sec+ and Net+.

Look at it like this hypothetical scenario:
    Degree = $40k job, wait and see if employer pays for certs
    Degree + Certs (~$500-600 investment) = $50k job
  • Options
    odysseyeliteodysseyelite Member Posts: 504 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Forget your peers, do they pay your bills? Having certs will get you ahead of the game. After I graduated, the first thing companies would ask me is, what certs do you have? I had non at the time. Don't get me wrong, a Degree is worth it, but the college system tends to not stay on top of the latest technology.