Options

Information Security, Networking and Math

Spike12Spike12 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I've been monitoring the forums for quite a while and I have yet to decide which path to take. I feel that my "fear" of math is putting a roadblock in what I'd like to do. I'm currently studying for the A+ exam and plan on continuing with the Network+ and Security+ afterwards.

I'm interested in Information Systems Security and/or Digital Investigations and I was wondering whether you could tell what level of math would be required for such positions. I'm definitely willing to learn, however, I know I have a limit to how much in-depth math I can really do.

I looked at a couple of curriculum (such as Champlain's Computer Forensics and Digital Investigation degree) and it appears that college algebra and statistics are the two core math courses.

Would you say this is representative of the actual knowledge required to be comfortable in those career fields?

My other concern would be the depth of knowledge required in networking. I enjoy computers, but I'm not sure I share this enthusiasm for the networking portion. Perhaps it is because it's a new field and appears overwhelming at this stage, I'm not sure.

I guess I'm trying to find a path that combines my skills and interests (digital forensics, security, solving problems - though not math related icon_lol.gif).

Thank you in advance for your help.

icon_cool.gif

Comments

• Options
    docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■