Options

SCCM package deploying problem

mikedisd2mikedisd2 Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■■■□□□□□
AS usual I've been asked to produce the impossible with a system I have very little experience. I've trawled a heap of SCCM sites and can't come up with the answer as apparently these things can be done 100 different ways. Appreciate if anyone can point out where I'm wrong here.

I'm deploying a simple Win7x64 SOE from SCCM 2012 with a bunch of packages via an OSD task sequence. The packages are referenced in the TS using collection variables with a prefix of PACKAGES. The prefix:programvariables are listed in the collection variable tab of a collection containing my pilot PC. Most packages use an .msi file and is executed with the command line msiexec /i application.msi /qn. And these deploy fine. Any other package where the command line references another file, doesn't, ie. msiexec /i applfile.msi TRANSFORMS=appfile.mst /qn, as don't pacakges where the command line deploys via a script (install.cmd).

The smsts.log returns a generic error code that is next to pointless. Manually installing the msi works fine and I'm sure all syntax is correct. As I can get all msi commands to deploy but not msi/mst or install.com commands, there must be something fundamentally wrong in my approach. So if anyone knows, what's the deal with deploying packages via OSD, How do I push out the msi files with a transform file? And how do I get bat files to execute? I imagine it's something to do with all relevant files being copied to the destination host.

But I'm new at this and would you believe they wanted this in 2 weeks(!) without any project planning (!!) from a guy who's still learning the product. Aint gonna happen.

Comments

• Options
    ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Error logs in SCCM are a joke. I don't have any SCCM 2012 experience, just 2007. Generally speaking, if you can get your .cmd file to run in Windows it should run from an OSD TS.