Options

"Why do you want to leave ur current job?" answer

jayman369jayman369 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
In most cases it's because of the $$$, and the interviewer probably knows it. But what's a slick way of answering such a question to impress the interviewer?

I know the answer would be different depending on the situation and what kind of jobs they are, but sharing your experience and your answers would be helpful and interesting.

Thanks.

-Jay

Comments

• Options
    garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    A good answer for that is your skill level has exceeded you currrent role & you need more of a challenge.
  • Options
    jayman369jayman369 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    That's actually right in line of what I was going to use for my interview next week. It's going to be my second job since I graduated, and since landing my first job, I've aquired a couple of certs. So that might be a good answer.
  • Options
    /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    That's most likely the best answer, and best reason for wanting to leave a job.

It's what I would use if I was asked that question in an interview, because it's the truth. I don't WANT to leave my current job, but I have exhausted all resources and have gathered nearly everything I can from it. I want a job that will allow me to expand on what I already know, as well as learn completely new material.
  • Options
    bighuskerbighusker Member Posts: 147
    Just say something like "this new position is a better match for my career goals, and I am looking for a challenge." These questions are really just meant to "weed out" the pool.
  • Options
    johnnynodoughjohnnynodough Member Posts: 634
    Nah, just tell em its because you already sexually harassed everyone in the office and you are looking for fresh meat icon_lol.gif

All kidding aside, the "Need a challenge, looking for a job that will allow me to grow more, a position to match my skills, maximize my potential" angle is a good one, always worked for me.