Options

MCITP lab

vishal_mcitpvishal_mcitp Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dear all,
I would like to move from service desk to servers. I want to setup MCITP lab. I have following hardware setup
3 No’s HP elite 8200 desktop, 2 HP elite book notebook, 3 Cisco switches
Could anyone guide me to setup MCITP practice lab please?
Regards,
Vishal Kundaikar
Goa India

Comments

• Options
    tbgree00tbgree00 Member Posts: 553 ■■■■□□□□□□
    My current lab is set up on one dell tower server. I installed the free VMware esxi on that. I have a technet subscription so I got the latest images and installed a couple of 2008 R2 virtual machines and went to work with that.

If you can get the trial of 208 R2 up and running on your desktops you would have a good canvas to work with. I would (and have) grabbed the Skills measured portion from the microsoft learning website and make sure you're comfortable setting up each of the roles as best as possible. Technet has a lot of good up to date documentation as well for how to install the roles and features.
    I finally started that blog - www.thomgreene.com
  • Options
    ITMonkeyITMonkey Member Posts: 200
    Your thread is in the Windows Server 2008 folder, so I assume that your lab will be for learning Server 2008, 2012 R2 or 2012. This is what you need to find out...

First: does any of your PCs support these server OSs? The HP documention for your desktop PCs limits support to only client/desktop OSs (i.e. Windows XP, Vista and Windows 7). Server OSs might not be supported, but can still be found to run on the unsupported machine -- then again, they might not!! The same can be said for your HP notebook PCs. What you may find is that the OS loads, but that drivers do not work (and will never work). For instance, if you lan drivers do not work, you will not be able to network servers to clients, or even access the internet for updates.