Online Certs/Accelerated Programs - Looking for quality online schools

MendMend Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a newb when it comes to online schooling. WGU is great but I'm not looking for a BA, nor can I afford it.

I currently work in IT as a Desktop Tech and I'm finally getting around to starting my certs.

There are a lot of community colleges that offer their own certs, but thats sort of a last resort due to lack of time, industry recognition and their awful requisite programs.

Are their reputable interactive online schools out there? e.g Streaming audio/video of actual professors, Webinars, etc?

Immediate goal: A+

Long Term Study/Schooling: MSCE Win7/8, Net+, CCENT/CCNA, Security+

Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Have you looked at any local community/tech colleges? Usually they will have a class that is meant to help you pass the A+.
  • MendMend Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I wont need schooling for A+, mainly networking where just reading a book is very difficult.
    Is there a Cisco Academy in your area? That would be great choice if it's available.
    You may have to consider CBT Nuggets or Trainsignal then. Also, Udemy has quite a few different IT related training options. I'm currently using Chris Bryant's Udemy CCNA class: CCNA 2013 On-The-Go Video Boot Camp With Chris Bryant by Chris Bryant
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    WGU is easily your best bet. Many of the certs and technologies you are working for are part of it. If you focus hard enough, it's cheaper than community college and even cheaper than self-studying, for some of the harder certs. I don't see why you wouldn't be able to afford it with student loans. Two terms at WGU are cheaper than taking three classes per semester for three semesters at a community college.