Options

What would you do if you could get a FREE MBA in project managment ????

itdaddyitdaddy Member Posts: 2,089 ■■■■□□□□□□
Okay guys help me out cause I am stumped..I am currently an IT manager at a credit union..and well been here the last 3 years as Manager the other 5 network support..so I have my BS in CS..so I am a Veteran of the US Air Force..and our state pays for 128 credit hours of the schools here. So I can get essentially a FREE MBA degree just have to put the time in.

What would you do and why if you were me?

chase Cisco Certs (which I do like very much) or get my MBA then shoot for CIO jobs? and never really have to chase any certification anymore really..I know CIOs don't have to really do anything but their jobs and an occasional maybe training?
Where us IT dogs have to work very hard to keep up with technology every 3 years..

Just wondering what you would do and why? I mean the degree is free just I show up to classes and exams..huh! WOW
I am freaking out...icon_sad.gif

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I would do it. Whether you stay as an IT Manager or move up it will help.
  • Options
    crrussell3crrussell3 Member Posts: 561
    Really it all depends on where you want to see yourself in the next 5,10,20 years. If you want to move to more of a management position and less technical, the MBA will help. If you want to stay on the technical side of things, the MBA won't hurt. Either way, its free no matter what you decide to do. You can always take your time and just do one class at a time so you can keep working on certifications if that is what you want.

If it was me, I would do it.
    MCTS: Windows Vista, Configuration
    MCTS: Windows WS08 Active Directory, Configuration
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod