Options

first it job

how can a college graduate who graduated with a bs in computer info systems get his first job in the information technology field?
any suggestions/advice?

Comments

• Options
    gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    1 word: intern
  • Options
    programmer24programmer24 Banned Posts: 122
    but there is no way a college graduate can really interned since he graduate
  • Options
    gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    why not? how long has it been?
  • Options
    i graduated in decemeber 2012 and i did couple of internship i did only one internship with school where i learn pc imaging crimping wires learning protocols networking etc
  • Options
    W StewartW Stewart Member Posts: 794 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Start applying to entry level jobs and consider getting your A+ as well. The pay for entry level jobs is crap but it's all about experience in the IT field so if you take the crap pay for maybe 6 months you can use the experience,your degree and maybe a few certifications to land a much better job and keep climbing the IT ladder. It was possible for me without a college degree so you can basically do what I did without the added burden of going to school while working. Now if you're looking for a decent salary right out of school, then you would have to consider a programming career. For the rest of us who work on systems and networks, we have to have enough experience to show that we know how not to bring down the whole network before getting a decent paying job.

Edit: Also where are you located? Location is everything in the job market. craigslist is also a great place to find entry level jobs.
  • Options
    coreyb80coreyb80 Member Posts: 647 ■■■■■□□□□□