CCNA Voice books

lincis_auslincis_aus Member Posts: 50 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just noticed that Cisco has the 2nd edition of their CCNA Voice OCG.

Does anyone know what the difference between the 1st and the 2nd edition is? I am asking because I am studying for CCNA V from the 1st edition book.

Also, does the OCG cover everything for the exam? I know it should as it is the OFFICIAL Certification Guide, but I have read some comments on the net that it does not.

Cheers

Comments

• azaghulazaghul Member Posts: 569 ■■■■□□□□□□
    There is a big difference between 1st and 2nd editions of CCNA:Voice.

1st Ed focuses on basic voice theory, implementing CUCME and really just touches on implementing CUE and the UC500 series.
    2nd Ed focuses on the day-to-day administration of a Unified Communications deployment, CUCM, CUCME, Unity Connection, and Unified Presence.

Just studying for the 1st Ed won't really get you over the line. But it does fill in the gaps and fleshes out the CUCME section in CVOICE.
  • lincis_auslincis_aus Member Posts: 50 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi,

I think you misunderstood my question. I was not asking what the difference between the old CCNA Voice exam and the new CCNA Voice exam is, but rather what the difference in books for the new CCNA Voice is.

Here is the book that Cisco Press has listed for CCNA Voice:

CCNA Voice 640-461 Official Cert Guide

and here is one on Amazon which is for the same exam, except it says it is 2nd edition.

Amazon.com: CCNA Voice 640-461 Official Cert Guide (9781587204173): Jeremy Cioara, Michael Valentine: Books

They both have the same number of pages, although i did notice that the 2nd edition one has coloured diagrams.
    Confused :S

Thanks anyway.
  • JustFredJustFred Member Posts: 678 ■■■□□□□□□□
    They are both the same books, the Amazon version just happens to have colour diagrams and i think the one on the ciscopress website does as well.