Virtual lab setup 70-410/11/12

Ok so I was thinking about reformatting my laptop and using it as a virtual lab to complete 70-410/70-411/70-412 exams.

I'm thinking install a server core data center copy of server 2012 as main os then adding hyper-v to that.

Anyone who has done the exams know how many virtual servers/clients would I need to add for studying the topics in the above exam objectives?

The idea is to get it all setup and snapshot so its all ready to go whenever I have spare time and want to study whatever topic I want.

I have 8gb ram and a 256gb SSD drive so resources are limited

Thanks.

Comments

• gabyprgabypr Member Posts: 136 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi, when I decided to start studying for the 2012 MCSE Server Infrastructure I was worried about not having enough resources to virtualize the proper environment to study. Right now im studying only to 70-410 and I have only needed a Win8 and a Server 2012 virtual machine. Im using virtualbox in my sony vaio 8gb with a new 750gb 7200rpm HD to store my virtual machines and stuff. I can run various instances of server 2012 although somewhat slow when I run various vm's, but its enough for me to practice.

I have to see yet if I need more resources to properly study for the rest of the exams *cross fingers*

Probably you will have better performance because of your SSD, the problem is that if you use it for your everyday probably you will get short of disk space. If you decide only to use to study I think you wont have problem.

If you get short of hard disk you can replace your dvd-rw drive and insert a second hard disk. A western digital hd with 750gb and 7200rpm just like the one I purchased cost me $90.

Good luck!
    EC-Council Master in Security Science M.S.S [Done]

Reading Project Management Professional (PMP) Certification Exam prep by Sohel Akhter
  • dazerskidazerski Member Posts: 106 ■■■□□□□□□□