Options

Project: Home network lab setup for learning purposes, help with suggestions

linuxloverlinuxlover Banned Posts: 228
Hello,

I would really like to nail down networking and server concepts by building a home lab for the purpose of learning. I have time until the end of the year or this time next year to prepare myself for a junior/entry level network/admin assistant position (I'm changing careers) and a few certifications (big: CCNA, MCSA, JNCIA-Junos(?), RHCSA(?), small: net+, sec+, linux+, server+, other: vmware, citrix). I don't care much for theoretical knowledge, I'm all for hands on experience and I'm not a total beginner either, I have some work experience (nothing fancy) but never did any serious engineering/administration so you might consider me a rookie. I want to learn and I need you to help me get on my feet with suggestions and advices. My desire is to work with servers and networks but I need to choose a career path and focus on one thing only and learn other things aside rather than trying to learn everything.

Project: Career change
Time: 1 year
Budget: max $2000
Part time: 4-5h/day
Topics to cover: SOHO networking, routers, switches, firewalls, subnetting, CISCO hardware (CCNA objectives), JUNIPER hardware (JNCIA-Junos), Windows Server 2008/2012, MySQL, MS SQL, virtualization, vmware esxi, citrix xen server, openvz, kvm, clustering, redundancy, security, linux, unix, NAS, SAN, VPN

What is the best setup for something like that? We're getting another internet package at home but from another ISP so I'd like to practice connection redundancy as well. What should I build in order to cover all those topics? How should I go about it? Any suggestions? What would you do? I don't want to wire switches and routers all over the place for no reason, I need a scenario to make this more realistic.