Options

New Job opportunity

saffyresaffyre Member Posts: 56 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey all,
Been a while since i've posted. Wanted to get everyones opinion on a new job offer I have.
I currently work as a IT consultant in town making "alright" wages and one of the companys my company does some work for has a new job opening. They are in need of their first actual IT guy because they have really passed what a consulting firm can help them with.

About their network: They have about 4 Cisco Catalyst switches (Which I set up). A full VOIP system. 30 or so employees. They have recently deployed SAP, which I wouldn't need to deal with a lot, but I know it would become part of my responsibilities. Fortigate routers. ~ 8 servers -- 1 internal and 7 cloud. For as few employees as they have --- they are actually pretty large. They have a very large web presence.

My 2 dillema's are:
I don't even know what position I would be considered. Network Engineer. System Administrator. Network Administrator. Which?
What should I request for Salary? I believe knowing what role to call myself would help with that.

A little about me:

Bachelor's will be complete by this October in Network Design and Management.
MCITP: EA, A+, Network+, Security+, Project+
7 Years experience as a consultant from networks with 2 computers --- all the way up to 200 employee networks, multi sites, etc.
My next goals will be VMWare certs, and Cisco certs.

Any help in this realm would be appreciated!
WGU Progress: Network Design and Management: started 04/12
Courses transfered: CSV1, WFV1, AGC1, BBC1, CLC1, LAE1, LUT1, QBT1, AXV1, CPV1, INC1, INT1, DFV1, GAC1, HHT1, DHV1, CWV1, QLT1, DEV1, BVC1, IWC1, IWT1 (64 CU) Courses Completed: CRV1, CTV1, CUV1, AHV1, AIV1, BHV1(30 CU)
Courses needed: BOV1, BNC1, TPV1, SBT1, RCT1 (20 CU)
Courses in progress: BIV1 (6 CU)

Comments

• Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    If only JOAT was an actual title...:D