Options

When to drop old jobs (resume)

Hey all, got a quick question for you:

At what point do you consider dropping old jobs that have no IT relation? For example, I worked sales for a few years and construction (total of 5 years for both). After that I worked as a depot tech, service desk, and now operations (total of 3-ish years for these three). Currently, I have my IT jobs on the main page, and my non-related work on page 2. Just wanted to know how long you guys think I should have worked in IT before I can phase them out or if I should keep them to show longevity.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    When they are no longer relevant and I have experience to replace them with.

Also its how much info you put in about the job.

For example it is 9 years since I worked in Science as a scientists, and for my last job I left that out of my CV. However for my current role it is a scientific research institute. So I put in back in as a very brief few lines as I thought it might be interesting to the potential employer.

I have to say if I read a CV and it has gaps in it then I will ask what some one was doing during them, out of work possible, in jail?? apart from working in Mc Donalds or behind a till as a summer job. Any serious employment I would be inclined to included, but only as a single line saying company, position and dates.
    • If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough. Albert Einstein
    • An arrow can only be shot by pulling it backward. So when life is dragging you back with difficulties. It means that its going to launch you into something great. So just focus and keep aiming.
  • Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■