Options

nth topic on Career Advice

SVXXSVXX Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone. :)
I'm currently doing my bachelor's in computer engineering, and I still have one and a half years to go, but the end is nearing. I've always wanted a career in infosec, and I've been wondering on what my next step should be after grad. I posted around on the Ethical Hacker network, and I did get some information, but I thought of asking here as well.
Going through the regular campus placement process in the fourth year would put me in as a software engineer. I want to start in the security field though.
I've heard about masters in Information Assurance in some universities in the US. Should I be going directly for that after my undergrad? Capitol College seems enticing, considering the NSA-driven program they have. There are other universities too (such as Iowa State and John Hopkins). Some of them (such as Norwich) require that the candidate have 2 years of prior experience. Please suggest some good unis if I should be going down this path - and I can handle my studies more than well. Also please advise me on whether I should work for a few years first or go for MS first - this is a popular conundrum. I was told by one of the members on EHnet to get into the field as soon as possible.

I've started preparing for CCNA (wanted to establish a foundation in networking), and I've been reading posts around these forums. I got a hold of the Cisco packet tracer and am currently on Ethernet networks in Lammle's book. I'll be asking questions as and when the need arises, so that is taken care of.
I wanted to ask about security certs as well. I was recommended eLearnSecurity's CPPT (I am interested in starting in the ethical hacking/pentesting area) and OSCP. I was also told by a fellow Indian that most of the foundational skills for these courses are covered in my college years, which is helpful.