When did Trainsignal become subscription based ?

jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
And what happened to the forum ?

I suppose subscription based has its advantages, but I still think I prefer to own a copy of the course so I can come back again if I wanted to .. without paying almost $600 / year ...
My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p

Comments

• dalesdales Member Posts: 225
    Spotted that myself last night, to be fair I think I prefer it that way, seems quite cheap to me especially as you couldn't choose a download only version of package you bought so when Mr UPS turns up at the door he wants £30 or so extra to give it to HMRC. Also the trainsignal stuff I've bought is invaluable whilst I'm studying for a cert but once I've passed it then DVD's tend to get shelved in favour of a book or google for quick fire reference material.

Access to their whole catalogue for about £30 a month compared to about £300 for one package seems like a bargain to me.
    Kind Regards
    Dale Scriven

Twitter:dscriven
    Blog: vhorizon.co.uk
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Never had to pay any tax here in the UK and I ordered probably 5 or more packages so far ...
  • SaundieSaundie Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I've only ordered one of their courses, and I wasn't charged any import tax or duties. It arrived in a pleasingly short time; well under a week, if I recall correctly. I was able to access the online version of the training material immediately, so I didn't really need the DVD.

With regards to the switch from the per-course payment model, I think it's an improvement. As dales says, they're not especially useful after you've passed the exam, so in my opinion the subscription model offers better value for money.
  • dalesdales Member Posts: 225