Options

Newbie Resume Critique pls

smellyguy_philipsmellyguy_philip Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I am new to IT and don't have a lot of experience. I will finish my Masters degree in December, and I am start lookin for job now. It's really difficult to put stuff into my resume, as I don't have a lot of things. I have attached my current resume, please kindly give any opinions or suggestions. This resume is a general one, not specifically towards a certain company. So I guess I'm probably going to post it in job sites. I really appreciate the help, and please do not hesitate to critisize. Thanks :)

SUMMARY OF QUALIFICATIONS

• Self-motivated, customer-focused Masters student with an exceptional ability to efficiently solve problems and master new skills/technology
• Experience as Desktop Support and Computer Technician with expertise in computer operation, maintenance and technical support, including building, repairing, diagnosing, upgrading and recycling PC hardware, software and networks
• Experience in marketing products in an E-commerce environment through online stores and auction websites, providing outstanding customer service
• 3 years experience as director in design and management of student-run magazine production organization leading team of 30
• 3 years experience in planning, organizing, and running fund-raising events, team-building activities, and dances in a student-run organization working with staff and club members of 200
• Multiple experience in public competitions such as stamp design, oral recitation, academic competitions, inter-nation Internet competition, etc

COMPUTER SKILLS

Programming/Databases: C, C++, Java, Pascal, SQL, DB2, MIPS, Scheme, MathCAD, Matlab, Python, Turing, PHP
Applications: Microsoft Access, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Norton Antivirus, Symantec Ghost, SPSS, etc.
Operating Systems: Microsoft Windows 3.1/95/98/Me/NT/XP, DOS, UNIX, Linux