Options

Networking Newbie Looking for Some Guidance

shirazirshirazir Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
First off, let me say that I'm hugely impressed with the kindness and environment of respect I've come across on this forum thus far. Kudos!

Here's what I'm looking for, some advice as to the best route for me as someone who wishes to pursue a career in networking. As a little background, I studied marketing at community college here in Toronto and I'm now looking to make the switch (see what I did there?icon_lol.gif) into networking.

Here are the options I've laid out for myself thus far. Keep in mind, my particular interests lie in security, voice, and wireless. Mind you, I have no formal education in IT, just a (hopefully) sharp mind and a penchant for learning.

- Study independently and try to earn a CCNA
- Take a private course and try to earn a CCNA ($$$$$)
- Enroll in a university certificate program, such as this one: Ryerson University: The Chang School: Courses and Programs ($$ but much less than the CCNA course)
- Run in circles, naked, shouting "networking" until somebody either hires me or calls the police.

So what do you guys think is the best option for me, considering I don't actually have a four year degree and much more business experience than networking?

Comments

• Options
    YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Easy: self-study for the CCNA and save yourself a bunch of money.
  • Options
    geek4godgeek4god Member Posts: 187
    Easy: self-study for the CCNA and save yourself a bunch of money.

Some of the university course span multiple semesters. So from a cost and a time standpoint go self-study!
  • Options
    Hatch1921Hatch1921 Member Posts: 257 ■■■■□□□□□□