Options

Need some advice about my education and future

jsb515jsb515 Member Posts: 253
I went to a local tech school for about a year and was not able to finish to to life circumstances and got married young at 21 and never had the time to finish my college but I did finish some small certs like my A+ and MCP.

I was lucky and blessed enough to work for a contracting company for about 2 years and got hired on at the hospital system that I was working out. I was a network tech for 2 years and moved up to a SR. level telecom position and learned how to work with rolm cbx systems and punch down on 66 blocks. I have been involved with all Cisco VoIP migrations with the Rolm system for the last 3 years and have been to a company paid Cisco training classes, worked with many Cisco engineers during the migrations. Then I figured I should get CCNA Voice certified and i've been working towards that ever since and recently passed my CCENT. After getting my CCENT this grabbed the attention of the network manager and I told him that I plan on getting my CCNA Voice and have no plans of losing interest in it and how much i've invested in a home lab to learn from. He told me that he will let be part of the router and switch upgrades that are coming up and that I can start racking the switches and shadow the other network admin who has an expired CCNA since 1999 and has no interest in the Cisco world anymore.. I told him that I will do anything Cisco related for experience and he also recently told me that a Network Admin position is coming open in the future and told me to apply and his already spoke to my current manager about moving me over to network side. My current manager spoke highly of me and said he agreed. So it looks like I have another position waiting for me once it gets posted.