Just witnessed my first routing loop

W StewartW Stewart Member Posts: 794 ■■■■□□□□□□
Not that big of a deal but It's not something I've come across at previous jobs since I've never worked at a big data center with a complex network set up. I'm a jr sys admin so I'm more of a server guy but I've got a pretty decent amount of networkng knowledge. I initially got a"time to live exceeded" message from ping a few servers on a specific subnet and we pretty much figured it was due to a change that one of the networking guys made in order to fix another problem and it got me thinking about what was causing the message. After doing a little reading I ran a traceroute and verified that it was a routing loop. Not that important but it's nice to see what one looks like.

Comments

• nerdydadnerdydad Member Posts: 261
    Wow, haven't seen one in production, and I've only seen it once by accident in a lab, many times when it was configured to loop. Were they redistributing between protocols? I have seen some broadcast storms when STP failed, that's pretty awesome except that it was in a production network.
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I've seen them plenty of times in production. Once you get a large enough network with a lot of people making changes it's bound to happen!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.