Options

Finally have decided, critics welcome

I have finally decided how to go about doing certification. My primary goal is one day to work as a Linux System Administrator or Network Administrator/Designer. I will be looking for an entry level or junior position next year and I will consider that "breaking into IT" or "getting my feet wet".

Normally people consider getting a helpdesk job as a door into IT but since I have some experience managing linux/bsd servers, albeit not professionally (not making a living with it), and you have probably seen my "lab setup" thread so that's gotta count for something, I decided to shoot for something better. I can't remember who was it that said, perhaps it was Donald Trump, something along lines of "if you're thinking anyway, think big". So that's what I'm going to do.

Everybody requires you to know all three essential technologies when you apply for a job in IT. Windows, Linux and Networking. For an entry level job basic certificates will suffice, such as A+, Net+ and MTA:OS. That will get you started, according to my research. Since I don't want a helpdesk job (unless it's networking helpdesk or supporting clients in web hosting company) I've decided to crank it up a notch.

My previous plans were a mixture of A+, Net+, Sec+, Linux+, Server+, LPIC2, LPIC3, RHCSA, RHCE, CCENT, CCNA, BSDA, MCSA:Win7. I've decided it's all bulls*it. It doesn't make sense taking both beginner and advanced certificates of the same technology, like Net+ and CCENT/CCNA or Linux+ and RHCSA. It takes a lot of time, costs a lot of money and frankly doesn't give you any advantage. So I've decided to take this path:

A+ -> MCSA:Win7 -> CCNA -> RHCSA (RHCE unless I run out of time)

or

A+ -> MCSA:Win7 -> RHCSA -> CCNA