Options

Where to go from here

Boxer77Boxer77 Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
I feel like my career has stalled and need some help. I have 13 years of experience in the same company. I started as a PC tech and now I am a system administrator. I currently manage about 30 Windows servers and multiple phone systems throughout the locations in the corporation. I also do minor fixes on HP switches as well as replacing them. I've been applying for jobs but have heard nothing in response. I have two major issues that I see. One, most of the requirements list skills that I don't have: VMWare, SQL, NetApp storage, etc. I have no experience in these fields. Also, my certifications are old and out of date. My last one was probably my MCP in 2006. I also have my a+, network+, server+, certified Novell administrator. I do have the materials for the Security+ and CCNA and am leaning towards the Security+ since that seems the most attainable with my skill set. Is this a good idea or am I going in the wrong direction.

Comments

• Options
    IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    Depends on what you want to do. If you want to stay a system administrator, go for the MCSE, VCP, etc. If you're looking to change roles and go for more of a networking role, CCNA/CCENT is a start that should get your foot in the door somewhere else. Security+ is a good start for a security-related change but I don't think that the Security+ alone will open doors. Security is a hard field to get into and usually it takes some side-stepping to get into that field. You might need to get some different kinds of experience here and there to find yourself eventually in a security role
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • Options