Completely new to CCENT/CCNA/Networking and no experience.

dippysplat2002dippysplat2002 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, as the title says i'm completely new to CCENT/CCNA/Networking and I have no experience in I.T. at all. I am out of work just now looking after my sick son and I don't want to go back to general administration when I venture back into the job market next year (hopefully).

I want to know what realistic ambitions I should have due to me having no I.T. experience as I want to make sure that I'm not "wasting" my time aiming for the CCNA if I'm not going to be able to make a living after I acheive the CCENT/CCNA. I know there are no guarantees to what I could land with the CCNA but it would be helpful to have some idea based on having no/little experience (eg job descriptions, salary etc).

I'm not aiming for the sky (I was only earning just over £15000 P.A. so not high earnings) and I know its going to be tough going but I plan on having the CCNA by this time next year if its possible but if I'm going to be worse off then I might just look into something mundane to enhance my current field than doing something interesting like Networking.

Any help/views are helpful and thanks in advance for helping me out!

Thanks

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    It's going to be tough not having any IT experience at all. A lot of people start out doing some sort of IT stuff before moving into networking like helpdesk. Your best bet is to look into starting off in a NOC or customer support for an internet service provider if you are looking for something purely networking.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • SomnipotentSomnipotent Member Posts: 384