Options

Second Bachelors vs Masters

the_hutchthe_hutch Banned Posts: 827
I got my Bachelors in Information Systems (something I seriously regret...wish I did either CompSci or Mathematics). Now, I'm trying to decide between getting a second bachelors (probably mathematics) or just getting a Masters in Info Systems Security (since I can't get accepted to a CompSci or Mathematics Masters program). I'm currently leaning towards doing a second bachelors. Anybody have any thoughts on this?

Comments

• Options
    kgbkgb Member Posts: 380
    Why can't you get accepted into a CS masters program? If you don't have some of the higher level math/cs classes from the undergraduate degree most let you fulfill those requirements and gain admittance If you are considering another 4 yr degree, you would be taking those classes regardless. Seems to me, you'd be better off taking those undergraduate classes needed to gain admittance to the masters and then go for the masters.

My 2 cents. I have only a BS personally.
    Bachelor of Science, Information Technology (Software) - WGU
  • Options
    ramrunner800ramrunner800 Member Posts: 238
    I'm in a similar situation myself. I have a BA in Political Science, and was torn between a BS in CS, or an MS in Infosec. I am going to go the MS route. From what advice I've seen on this forum and gotten from management at my company, the subject matter of my degrees isn't as important as the simple fact of having them. Once the Bachelor's and Master's boxes are checked, lots of doors open. Most tech job posting's I've seen say that they are looking for a BS in CS or a related field. With a second BS you still qualify for those same jobs, but with an MS you will qualify for a whole new tier of jobs.

I don't really know if it's the 'right' answer, but it's the logic I've been designing my plan around. I'll be interested to see what advice others have.
    Currently Studying For: GXPN
  • Options