Options

New to IT and in need of some direction

HardwareGnomeHardwareGnome Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys. I am new to IT(I have never had an IT job before), and I am looking for a bit of direction. I am due to graduate college soon with a liberal arts degree, which is pretty much useless in the current job market, so I am turning to my long time computer hobby for new opportunities. I know that the A+ is is the basic intro certification, but I don't really know where to go from there. In my area(NY metro), almost every job listing that I've seen on Dice, or any other site, requires a BS in computer science and a ton of experience. Are there any "big deal" certification that could at least partially make up for my lack of those? I may be new to the professional IT field, but I am not illiterate. I have been building and working with computers for years as a hobby or to help out friends. What fields of IT are hot right now? Is there a reasonably easy way to break into any of them? I'm pretty much open. Any direction or input would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    If this is not your last semester I would *highly* recommend seeing if your college hires student workers in IT positions. It's an excellent foot in the door and a way to get XP on your resume.
  • Options
    HardwareGnomeHardwareGnome Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I actually did. They are only open to CS students, and wouldn't start until the Fall anyway...

Edit: This is my last semester, so the Fall obviously doesn't help.
  • Options
    JuanNoExperienceJuanNoExperience Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□