Options

Associates + 4 Years IT Experience + CCNA enough to land a job?

justinbreedjustinbreed Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
How much experience is needed to waive a "bachelor's degree required" statement on a job posting? I have 4 years experience managing the RQ4 (UAV) network from linux servers (proxies, iptables, web servers, etc) to configuring/maintaining cisco devices (6500, 7200, 3800, 3700, 3500, 2800, ASA firewalls, FWSM).

Current certifications:
-CCNA (Felt this certification was really easy. Received this in November of 2012)
-CPTE
-Sec+
-Linux+

-Received CCNP Security Firewall training (ASA Firewall), but have not taken the exam since I need to take CCNA Security first.

I changed my major so many times before realizing what I love doing, which is networking. I currently have over 130 college credits with a 3.8GPA and will only be getting my associates this year. Our shop is active 24/7 365 so I have had to take online courses that required my schedule to be open to work whenever I get called in. I would say I am one of maybe 2-3 technical people in the work center than have a really good understanding of our network and can resolve technical issues. I created network diagrams using Visio for our work-center within a couple days with specific details from logical to physical so others can get spun up to take over. I will only be able to get my associates before leaving active duty and was wanting to transition to a civilian job that has decent pay (55-70k) while I continue to work towards my bachelor's degree. Also I have been studying for my CCNP and will be taking the routing part of the test soon. Would this be something I should really strive to achieve? After looking over job postings I see nothing but the requirement for a bachelor's degree, which is kinda nerve racking since I have a family to support.