Options

What can I do with Comptia A+ HELP!

TheBigMacTheBigMac Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all
I'll do my best to keep this short and to the point.

I have no IT experience, except what I've pickedup over the years fixing my own and family and friends PCs. I know Comptia A+ is the place to start but I really want to know is it worth doing... will it land me an entry tech job? I have about 5-6 years of studying business studies but dont have a degree all I have is a HND in Business. I just want to get my foot in the door of a company but I dont want to waste time and money with getting my Comptia A+ cert to only find its useless, as Im sure people with computer degrees are more than willing to take a £10,000 a year job as this economy is entering a triple-dip recession according to BBC News...

If I do get my Comptia A+ is there any other certs that would be recommended I also wouldn't mind entering the Networking field, but my main choice would be Desk support.
In all honesty I cant afford to go on any training courses and would be relying on self-study, I have the Mike Myers 801-802 book on my kindle (I plan to get a hard copy if I decide to go ahead with the comptia a+)

Comments

• Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The A+ Certification definitely helped me land a desktop support role, is it worth it? yes it is, two exams one for hardware one for software it will validate your skills as a technician. It will certainly look good on your resume and some jobs require that you have it. After you get your A+ you can move on to Microsoft Certifications that gear towards desktop support: Windows Certification | Microsoft Learning If you wish to go into networking, then you can get your N+ instead of A+ then move on to Cisco certifications such as CCENT, CCNA and so on...
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • Options