Options

To Switch or Stay?

IT_NerdIT_Nerd Member Posts: 25 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi everyone. I will try to keep this brief. I've been in helpdesk for 2 years now with the same company. I have learned a lot. I really enjoy where I'm at. I'm currently making 30k per year. I have a 2 year degree in computer networking and looking to get into security technology at some point. My dilemma is basically this. There is no opportunity to move up... at all. Is it advisable to start searching for something new? I like the sense of security where I'm at, but another place I may be interviewing with is starting 40k a year for a similar position with the possibility of switching roles eventually. I could use the extra salary too. Is 30k to 40k that big of a jump to be worth the risk though? Any input is much appreciated! Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    So..
    1. There's no opportunity to move up
    2. You are comfortable, which probably means your job is easy in more or less words
    3. You are looking at a potential 33% raise

I think it's time to rattle some branches, take the plunge, and start building your resume! Don't ever look back and keep your eyes on the prize icon_thumright.gif
  • Options
    PolynomialPolynomial Member Posts: 365
    Yes.

Its better to take a risk with something new and move forward than settle into a pattern of comfortable mediocrity.
  • Options
    lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Good is the enemy of great.

If you want to move up you have to move sooner or later. Two years is a good time to leave, it's long enough to show persistence and short enough to still be open for new ways and technologies.
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • Options
    MiikeBMiikeB Member Posts: 301