One For The Linux Guys Initial Server Configuration Best Approach?

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
Howdy all I am in the process of setting up a Ubuntu Server now before I go live and actually build a system I am going to be practicing virtually :)

Because I am very new to Linux I will try and keep what I am trying to achieve simple In this example I will be using low sized Hard Disks just to try and get my head around things.

So in Virutal Box I have two 10 Gig Hard Disks ( sda and sdb)

I basically want to setup some kind of redundancy and have a share for data which can be accessed via SAMBA

I have kept the partitions low obviously in real life they would be alot bigger

SDA

/ boot - 200mb
/ 2 GIG
/HOME - 2GIG
/DATA - 2 GIG
SWAP - 2 GIG

SDB

Partition layout godknows* :)

Question is how does the Second disk fit in this? Like I said I want some kind of Raid or is LVM the best approach? I have read various documentation but am getting nowhere icon_sad.gif and am getting quite disheartened just need somebody to explain what is the best approach to setup a partition scheme on two drives

Given the scenario of having 2 small hard disks how would you best go about setting up a partition scheme I need the explanation to be very easy to follow and concise because I am a numpty haha :)

I do intend to document everything I do and give back to the community in a form of a blog once I have reached guru stage, Once again many thanks for your help I really do appreciate it
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• log32log32 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 217
    not sure I understood the final goal but if you want to use your additional hard drive you can format it with ext3/4 and mount it as /backup, and if you want to replicate data you can do so with bash scripts or rsync