Options

Resume Question

My wife graduates from nursing school in about 7 more weeks, and by mid-June should have her RN license and a job. Based on the going rates in our area for new RN's (22-25/hour), she's going to be making more than I do. So much more, in fact, that I would probably need a promotion to catch up. We've discussed things, and we decided (rather I did) that since she's had to dance around my career for such a long time, perhaps it might be time for me to do the same. She LOVES what she does, she's great at it, and her possibilities to advance are unlimited if she has more freedom in her scheduling.

Which leads me to my question. I will probably leave my current job and go to something part-time in IT, but when I put in my resume, if I am totally up front, would look like madness for a part time position. The craziest part is that I have an MBA. I got it when I worked at a previous job thinking it might open me up to advancement and improve my outlook there. It did neither. When I draw up a resume soon to get ready to transition out, I'm thinking about leaving this piece of information off. Granted, I could explain it in the interview, but it would feel odd. Should I leave it off, any tips for working a resume like this?
"If you can't fix it, you don't own it"
"Great things have small beginnings."

Comments

• Options
    wes allenwes allen Member Posts: 540 ■■■■■□□□□□
    If she has a steady income + benefits/insurance and you just want something part time, maybe look into self employment / consulting type work.
  • Options
    Cpl.KlingerCpl.Klinger Member Posts: 159
    wes allen wrote: »
    If she has a steady income + benefits/insurance and you just want something part time, maybe look into self employment / consulting type work.