Options

So I'm in my grad class and...

GoodBishopGoodBishop Member Posts: 359 ■■■■□□□□□□
we were talking about what employees do to better themselves. Items like training, and going to school. I chimed in with certifications, naturally.

Then the professor asked why they, and we, were doing this. His answer was very good...

It's about staying relevant.

It kinda crystallized the reason why I'm pushing myself, for school and for certifications - I want to stay relevant.

So, what are you doing to stay relevant?

Comments

• Options
    gabyprgabypr Member Posts: 136 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Besides certifying right now im doing my masters in security, and daily check the latest news and trends to stay ahead. Also I go to IT companies presentations to be able to appreciate what others offers. As a manager I have to know which is the most cost-effective solution to my organization to avoid implementation problems or misunderstandings which could make me look incompetent.
    EC-Council Master in Security Science M.S.S [Done]

Reading Project Management Professional (PMP) Certification Exam prep by Sohel Akhter
  • Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Good topic - I suspect that the idea of staying relevant in your career can mean different things depending on your aspirations.

For me, a lot has to do with just staying in touch with cultural trends towards technology. That's one of the big reasons why I read the TE forums. Where I happen to be in my own career, I find that to be relevant, I need to sometimes step away from the people that I work with. And because of the anonymous nature of this forum, I found that comments about technology trends and job challenges are a lot more genuine and unrestricted. One of my resolutions this year was to start to focus better on networking opportunities and to reach out more to my peers in industry. So far, I'm finding that to be the best way to stay relevant.