Options

Is it easy or hard to be a entry level java developer, entry level software developer

how did everyone start in those careers like what was the interview like and did everyone has experience as a software developer, java developer or database administrator? how would I get a start since I graduated with a bachelor degree in CIS and what was it like for everyone who actually works as a software developer or database admin

Comments

• Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Easy or hard is pretty relative and would depend on your background and what type of entry level job you actually get.

As for comparison of software developer, java developer, web developer, COBOL developer, software engineer, etc. - I don't recommend looking at it in that manner if you are just starting out. Every one of those jobs roll up to being a role where software is designed and implemented.

I did start my career as a software engineer/developer but I that's not what I do today. I have a very positive experience and I truly enjoyed the experience.

I got my start when doing part-time work. Basically, while I was in school, I worked on developing graphics libraries which were then used by other programmers to write software. My real full-time programming job was writing system and operating system tools that were used by the system administrators and I also did a fair amount of porting of software to new operating systems. From there, I worked on financial applications (usually back-end systems) and also worked on some early embedded systems.

So basically, my own interest are in lower-level programming and a little bit closer to OS level. I have always preferred doing software development on tools and applications which were then used by system and network administrators or other programmers.

My own background in software development and software engineering is just one example.