Options

Career Change... Need Advice

Knowledge82Knowledge82 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ok im 31 and making 40k a year at a dead end job right now. I've been interested in doing IT work for a long time now. Right now I kind of got my mind made up on pursuing a Associate's degree in Information Security at a local community college then transferring to a 4 year university and getting my Bachelor's. I was thinking of working full-time at the job that I am at now and going to school at night while also obtaining some certs. I also have a mortgage to pay so I don't want to take too much of a pay cut. What advice would you give me and what is the best way for me to get into the IT field? I have no experience right now and Im not sure that I'm disciplined enough for me to study at home for the different certs. So I'm thinking going to school might be the best way to go.

Comments

• Options
    lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Well, IT is a huge field.

Saying you want to get into IT is a little bit like saying you want to get into Science. Have you thought about what technologies and environments interest you? Do you have people skills? Do you like programming?

I think you should write a little more about what you have already done with IT (everything counts) and what you liked or disliked about it. I think that would allow people on the forum to get an idea what type of person you are and what way might suit you.

Anyway, welcome to the forum and best of luck in your career change!
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • Options
    MiikeBMiikeB Member Posts: 301
    Assuming you want to get in to System/Network Admin work I would recommend a part like this:

Study for Certifications at night. Get a Windows Desktop and Windows Server Certification or a CCNA.
    Do lots of labbing so you can answer troubleshooting type questions on your technical interview.