switching careers, hoping to become a Linux/Unix SysAdmin

devzerodevzero Registered Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I hold a business-oriented Bachelor's degree with a specialization in languages. I'm seriously considering switching careers for a number of reasons. I originally thought of becoming a network administrator but what I'm really interested in is more in line with system administration, particularly of Linux/Unix systems.

Since I'm currently employed and have no formal IT background, I was wondering what certifications might be worth pursuing to get a foot in the door? So far I've considered starting off with the RHCSA and CLP, but might a CCNA also be worthwhile? What other certifications might be of use?

Having said that, I realize perfectly well that getting certified on paper doesn't make me a SysAdmin - I do need real-life hands-on experience. Do you have any suggestions as to how I might be able to gain experience so employers will take any certifications I obtain more seriously?

I do have some vague ideas of my own but I'd like to hear from you guys first. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• log32log32 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 217
    Get certified, you will gain knowledge on your way to the certification, get to know Linux and love it (I recommend using it as your main OS if you can), you can also join few IRC Linux support channels that way you can fix your own problems and help others + gain some more knowledge.
    I always idle in #debian #ubuntu #gentoo #redhat and other vendors channels in mIRC, it's very helpful.
    with the time you will get to that job you're looking for, but you need experience. and time will give you that.
  • devzerodevzero Registered Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□