Options

Infrastructure Master question (FSMO / 70-640)

EasyMac308EasyMac308 Member Posts: 57 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi folks,

I'm just wondering if someone can shed some light on this for me. I'm studying for 70-640 and the material says that the Infrastructure Master Role must be placed on a DC that's not a GC server unless they're *ALL* GC servers. Why is that? The material doesn't say. Thanks!
Currently Reading: A cereal box
BS:IT student at WGU - 81/120 CU done as of 6/2016

Comments

• Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If I remember right, the infrastructure master's job is to compare the objects in its domain with objects from other domains in the forest. It compares the objects against the global catalog. When an object is changed, the global catalog is updated with that change. If your IM finds that an object is out of date, it will ask the global catalog for the updated info. The IM takes that updated info and replicates it to the other DCs in the domain.

Microsoft says that if the IM and GC are on the same server, the IM won't find objects out of date, so any changes won't be replicated to the other DCs in the domain.

The exception would be if you only had 1 DC in the domain, or if all of your DCs are global catalog servers.

btw: nice to see another person from WA state.
  • Options
    EasyMac308EasyMac308 Member Posts: 57 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hmmm.... OK, thanks for the clarification. (And the welcome).
    Currently Reading: A cereal box
    BS:IT student at WGU - 81/120 CU done as of 6/2016
  • Options
    ClaymooreClaymoore Member Posts: 1,637