Options

Help on breaking into industry

wootwootwootwoot Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
I recently graduated with a BS in computer science. For the past year I have been working full time in a help desk like enviroment on campus. I have a Network+ cert and am working on getting my CCNA. I am trying to get my first job out of college here pretty soon. I am moving in about 1 1/2 weeks to Phoenix and will be looking for a job there. Can you guys give me some advice on the type of job I should be looking for. Or a good company that hires people right out of college? I am not too sure who I should be looking at, I am trying to get a job related to networking but will take any computer job that will give me experience and the possibility for advancement, thx.

Comments

• Options
    int80hint80h Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I graduated college with a degree in computer engineering with no experience. After I graduated, I contacted employment agencies, and got a contract job writing database software for a medical IT company. It was low paying with no health insurance, but it payed the bills while I looked for a better position.

I stayed their for 7 months until I found a job writing assembly language software for 16 bit microcontrollers that payed very well with good benefits. Don't be afraid to take contract work when you just start out, as your free to look for a better full time position while working.
  • Options
    int80h do you have any advice on what to look for in an employment agency? I have no problem with going to one for a job but there are a ton of them out there and a lot of them don't seem to credible. How did you go about finding a good one?
  • Options
    +CNENT++CNENT+ Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I would post your resume on

http://www.monster.com
    http://www.computerjobs.com
    http://www.careerbuilder.com
    http://hotjobs.yahoo.com/
    http://www.dice.com